Duties of a Muslim

 

 

As Salam alekum wa rehmatillahi wa barkatahu! 

 

(May peace, blessings, and mercy of Allah (swt) be upon all of you)

 

 

      When I first started going to college in 2007, I never thought I would meet many non-Muslims who are interested to know about Islam. Everyday as I used to wait for my class to start, people often asked me questions on Islam. When I started discussing few topics with them, I noticed other students taking interest in listening to what Islam is really about. Sending out right information is what every Muslim should do. Whenever non-Muslims ask me a question on Islam and tell me what they have heard from others, I immediately catch on to the topic and explain them more about Islam. A lot of people have misconceptions about Islam and since we are Muslims, we should give them right understandings and guidance of Islam. As a Muslim it is our duty to spread the word of truth, and make ourselves more educated and knowledgeable with our religious teachings; therefore, when we explain, it is easier for others to understand. As every Muslim knows that the first revelation given by Allah (swt) to Prophet Muhammed (P.B.U.H) was to READ! (Iqra) In order to spread the knowledge, we should be prepared to answer all sorts of questions. Let’s educate ourselves by reading Qura’n and Sahih Hadith.

                                                                                                  

                                                                                                                              

     As a Muslim we should be proud of our religion. Some people don’t really show that they are Muslims by not wearing right clothing and by not behaving the way they should. Because they are so tight up with their social adequate they forget about their adequate in Islam. I have encountered few people who are Muslims, but their behavior isn’t like one. People shorten their names from Ali to “AL” etc. They want to look cool with their names and absurd attitude towards others. I usually see these kinds of Muslims in schools. They are ashamed to be seen in Jum’mah prayer and if we call them with their real names, they get mad at us saying “Please don’t call me Ibrahim! No body knows me by that name” Well!!! Isn’t that your Name? These people don’t realize that as they are changing their names, they are actually changing their identity as a Muslim. 

      On the other hand, few kids are ashamed to do something good when they are asked. For example, when my colleague asked her nephew to recite Nasheed, he started giggling, smiling, blushing, and gave few excuses at first then he recited the Nasheed when we insisted him. Later that day, when my friend asked her nephew to dance on the song playing on the radio, he got up instantly and started showing his moves. This is what exactly we don’t want our new generation to grow up as. Therefore, let’s try telling our family members and friends to be bold and instant when told to do something for Islam.                         

                                                                  

                                              

 

 

 

Tags: , , , ,

6 Responses to “Duties of a Muslim”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    very good reminder, mashAllah

  2. houssam Says:

    dalam alaikom

  3. houssam Says:

    salam

  4. Soon-to-be Convert Says:

    I am 19 and I have officially decided that I wanted to convert last week when I watched two girls take shahada and was overcome with emotiona dn inspiration. I actually kind of known I was interested in converting for a few months now as I have been frwquently researching Islam online and through books. What is your advice for converts?

  5. MuslimahBlog Says:

    First of all, let me congratulate you for doing the research and also having the guts to accept the Truth. Allahu Akbar (God is great)…There are number of websites where your every question will be answered Insha Allah (God willing) but i would recommend you to find someone to talk to you personally in a Mosque (or) in your University. If in University you have to make sure that the person you are asking questions to (or) hanging out with is a “Practicing Muslim” – when i say practicing Muslim you should understand the meaning of Arabic word “Muslim”. it means someone who submits his/her will to God. so practicing Muslim/Muslimah should do exactly do what you are currently doing…thinking every time whether Allah (swt) will accept this act as acceptable (or) my act/way of living will take me away from God.

    I am sure you have questions on whether to shake hands (or) go out with friends to party (or) when to start wearing Hijab. to answer all these questions in short. I will say, you don’t have to shake hand/Hug to show your respect to someone. No partying. because you know exactly why “guys” party to check out girls and you don’t want to be the reason for someone else’s wrong doing.pray for them. regarding Hijab – i always tell my sisters If you cover yourself you are not only protecting yourself from evil eye but also setting up an example in the society on how to be a Modest girl and Hijab is not only practice in Islam but it is in every Holy scripture…Have you seen how mother Mary dress up (with Hijab) Masha Allah.

    Please visit: http://www.islamtomorrow.com – I wish you good luck and may Allah (swt) make things easier for you especially inviting others to Truth like your parents and Please Pray for all of us. your prayers will be answered more quickly then any of us because by Entering Islam, all your previous sins are forgiven and you start with a clean book – Allahu Akbar and Allah (swt) will never leave your prayer unanswered Insha Allah.

    Welcome once again my sister in Islam and if you have any other question (or) need help, please write here and Insha Allah i will do anything to help you get started Insha Allah (God willing).

    Takbeer!!!! Allahu Akbar

  6. Soon-to-Convert Says:

    Thank you so much for advice. I know two good practicing muslim classmates who will be helping me (I have also met several other good role models from my school’s MSA). One of them took me to the mosque today. I learned about wudu and learned how to do one of the prayers. This week I will also be attending a sister’s halaqah. I have already been covering up for two weeks now. Most of my closes can be made more appropriate (not that they were indecent to begin with) by wearing a long sleeve shirt under. I went shopping last weekend to find long skirts, but the few I find I cant afford! I told my muslim friend so she is going to take me to some small stores whre she shops for some of her clothes. I know I want to wear hijab ( I received my first one as a gift 🙂 but I want to be more practing in my faith first. The rest of this semester my focus is to read the quran and learn my prayers.
    Again, thank you so much for your advice.

Leave a Reply

