Purification of Soul

 As salam alekum wa rehmatillahi wa barkatahu!

(May peace, blessings, and mercy of Allah (swt) be upon all of you)

 

 

“Purification of the Soul “

 

Daily Checklist for Introspection Self-examination and Self-Rectification

Answer the Following Questions and Improve /rectify your action accordingly

 

Did I pray five times today?

 

Did I read Holy Qura’an with understanding today?

 

Did I sincerely completed my duties and responsibilities today?

 

Did I Speak lies today?

 

Did I misbehave today?

 

Did I tease anyone today?

 

Did I make fun of someone or laugh at someone’s mistake today?

 

Did I show off today?

 

Did I behave arrogantly with anyone today?

 

Did I backbite today?

 

Did I get jealous today?

 

Did I get angry today?

 

Did I improve in any way today?

 

Did I waste any time today?

 

Did I feel proud or superior today?

 

Did I spend money extravagantly today?

 

Did I do my Hijab today?

 

Did I speak unnecessarily to any one of the opposite Sex today?

 

Did I see any vulgar/obscene movie/program today?

 

Did I disrespect my parents today?

 

Are my family members happy with me today?

 

Did I thank Allah for everything today?

 

Did I disobey any commandments of Allah today?

 

Did I ask forgiveness of Allah today?

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

7 Responses to “Purification of Soul”

  1. MuslimWomen Says:

    As salam alekum sister!

    This is a very nice way of keeping our E’man strong. Everyday before i go to bed i will revise this check list.

    Jazak’Allah for the check list.

    MuslimWomen

  2. University Princess Says:

    Hello. =3

    I think that many of these points on the checklist apply to everyone, even the nonreligious.

    But I am a little confused.

    What does it mean to “back bite?” and “Did I speak unnecessarily to any one of the opposite Sex today?” — what qualifies as unnecessary and why is this ideal in place?

  3. MuslimahBlog Says:

    Hi, University Princess,

    Backbiting is to speak ill of a believer behind his back, including matters concerning his moralities, appearance, or personality. Not only is backbiting restricted to words, but also it includes every behavior and deed, whether suggestive or direct The Prophet (s) defined backbiting by saying:

    “Do you know what is backbiting? … It is to mention things that your brother dislikes. … To mention things that are really found in the personality of your brother is backbiting. To mention things that are not found in the personality of your brother is slander.”

    Backbiting is however one of the meanest manners and most serious crimes and sins. God likens the backbiter to the one who eats the flesh of the dead:

    “Believers, stay away from conjecture; acting upon some conjecture may lead to sin. Do not spy on one another or backbite. Would any of you like to eat the disgusting dead flesh of your brother? Have fear of Allah; Allah accepts repentance and is All-mer ciful (49:12).”

    “Did I speak unnecessarily to any one of the opposite Sex today?”:

    Unnecessary here it means when you talk to opposite sex with out even knowing them, or talking to the opposite sex with no close relations, or talking to the opposite sex unnecessary with the topic not related to your work – Talking to the opposite sex without any proper reason in Islam and Christianity is forbidden. If you read my Up coming post on “Women Rights in Islam” You will find out what exactly i am talking about. In that blog you will know who a Muslim women can talk to and who she has to maintain her distance with.

    Unnecessary also means Flirting and talking to the opposite sex with wrong intentions in your mind.

    I am sorry for the long answer; however, your answer was very good. Therefore your question needs an elaborate answer, which i think will answer your questions.

    Thank You and Jazak Allah Khair (May Allah reward you)

    MuslimahBlog

  4. The University Princess Says:

    No, the longer the better. I apreciate it very much.

    I like to learn about different religions, and I think that Islam is the one that I admire the most, so I am very pleased to find this blog and someone who is so willing to answer my questions, even at length.

    Thank you =)

    -Princess Almira

  5. MuslimahBlog Says:

    Pleasure is all mine. If you have any other question, let me know. You are my sister in Humanity, i will answer your questions in the best way i can.

    JazakAllah (May Allah reward you)

    MuslimahBlog

  6. mindswell Says:

    May peace, blessing and mercy of God be upon you.
    I was enlightened by your articles about the Rights of Women in Islam. Also, the other article on Purification of the Soul is enlightening and may also serve well even those who don’t believe in Islam.
    Would it be possible to share those articles with Muslims in the Philippines and nearby countries, like Malaysia, Thailand and Indonesia? You see, I am the managing editor of an Islamic magazine that is distributed in these countries. If you would allow me to use some of your articles, I’ll have it printed in the magazine, Halal Lifestyle.
    Thank you.

  7. MuslimahBlog Says:

    Walekum as salam Mindswell!

    I appreciate your comments, and i am glad that my articles are serving some purpose to enlighten my sisters in Islam like you!

    Yes, you can definetly use my articles and share it with others who are seeking knowledge about Islam. After giving due credit to my blog in your magazine, please forward me the digital copy of your magazine if possible.

    JazakAllah Khair
    May Allah (swt) reward you

    MuslimahBlog

Leave a Reply

